Returning to the Ridge

Niagara welcomed graduates of classes ending in 1’s and 6’s during Alumni Weekend 2016, Oct. 7-9. Attendees enjoyed a variety of events, including the annual alumni golf outing, Purple & White Night, ReunionFest, college open houses, a Saturday night dinner, and a memorial Mass and renewal of wedding vows.

Several alumni were recognized with awards during the weekend. Lynne Tompkins, M.A.Ed.’94, M.S.Ed.’08, received the U.S. Educational Leader of the Year award at the College of Education’s annual professional recognition ceremony; 2nd Lt. William Jerro, ’66, and 1st Lt. Dennis Grace, ’66, were inducted (posthumously) into the NU ROTC Hall of Fame; Joan (Kissik) McMahon, ’66, and Claudia (Lewis) Davis, ’86, were honored by the Nursing Alumni Council with its Clinical Excellence Award and its Award for Research and Scholarship (respectively); William Kane, ’66, received the John C. DeDeyn Jr., ‘65, Achievement Award; Thomas Ferrara, ’76, was the recipient of the Dunleavy Award; the Rev. John Maher, C.M., ’76, was honored with an Alumni of Distinction award; Charles Starrs, ’51, was named Alumnus of the Year; and Dr. Sharon Onevelo Watkinson, ’66, received the inaugural Lifetime Alumni Achievement Award for her lifelong commitment to NU and excellence in Vincentian education.

To see photos from the weekend, visit: www.flickr.com/photos/niagarauniversity and www.niagara.edu/alumni-photos/album/146.